Women’s World Cup prize money: How much do the winners get?

Women’s World Cup prize money

As England faces off against Spain in the Women’s World Cup final, marking a pivotal moment in football, there’s an additional significant incentive for the victors in the form of a record-breaking prize money allocation.

Preceding the tournament, FIFA announced an impressive total prize fund of $152 million (£126 million) that would be distributed during the World Cup hosted in Australia and New Zealand.

Within this substantial sum, a notable $110 million (£86 million) has been earmarked for performance-based rewards, an amount that surpasses the $30 million awarded in the 2019 Women’s World Cup held in France by more than threefold.

Additionally, a separate fund of $42.5 million has been designated for preparation funding and club benefits, further underscoring the commitment to enhancing the Women’s World Cup on multiple levels.

An intriguing facet of this year’s World Cup is that players will receive 44 percent of the performance-based fund, which will be disbursed independently from the collective earnings of each participating nation.

Here’s a breakdown of the earnings for both players and teams based on their performance in the Women’s World Cup:

Players’ Earnings:

• Champions: $270,000 (£212,000)
• Runners-up: $195,000 (£153,000)
• Third Place: $180,000 (£141,000)
• Fourth Place: $165,000 (£130,000)
• Quarter-finals: $90,000 (£70,000)
• Round of 16: $60,000 (£47,000)
• Group Stage: $30,000 (£23,600)

Teams’ Earnings:

• Champions: $4,290,000 (£3.4 million)
• Runners-up: $3,015,000 (£2.4 million)
• Third Place: $2,610,000 (£2.0 million)
• Fourth Place: $2,455,000 (£1.9 million)
• Quarter-finals: $2,180,000 (£1.7 million)
• Round of 16: $1,870,000 (£1.4 million)
• Group Stage: $1,560,000 (£1.2 million)

This distribution of earnings emphasizes FIFA’s commitment to equitable compensation and recognition for the accomplishments of both players and teams participating in the Women’s World Cup.

A significant disparity persists in the prize money allocation between the men’s and women’s World Cups. The marked contrast is evident when comparing the record-breaking prize fund of $152 million (£126 million) announced by FIFA prior to the women’s tournament with the reported prize money of $440 million (£365 million) that was made available to teams in the men’s World Cup held in Qatar last year.

FIFA President Gianni Infantino has articulated an ambitious goal to achieve parity in pay between the men’s and women’s World Cups by the time of the 2026 and 2027 tournaments. Encouraging media and sponsors to play an active role in bridging this gap, Infantino emphasized that women have the potential to influence men in recognizing the possibility of achieving equity in football.

He stated, “The commitment should be extended to all stakeholders, encompassing broadcasters, sponsors, and partners, to ensure fair remuneration for women’s football. This extends not only to the World Cup, which has already generated over $570 million (£447 million), but also to women’s football at large across all nations, leagues, and competitions.”

Infantino’s aspiration underscores the imperative of collectively addressing this issue and fostering an environment of equal recognition and remuneration within the realm of football.

Read More:-

Rate this post

Leave a comment